Landlocked Country: Definition and List

 Landlocked Country: Definition

» A landlocked state or landlocked country is a sovereign state entirely enclosed by land, or whose only coastlines lie on closed seas. There are currently 49 such countries, including five partially recognised states. Only two, Bolivia and Paraguay in South America, lie outside Afro-Eurasia (the Old World).
» As a rule, being landlocked creates political and economic handicaps that access to the high seas avoids. For this reason, states large and small across history have striven to gain access to open waters, even at great expense in wealth, bloodshed, and political capital.
» Kazakhstan is the largest landlocked country by area
» Vatican City is smallest landlocked country by area
» Landlocked countries may be bordered by a single country having access to the high seas, two or more such countries, or be surrounded by other landlocked countries, making a country doubly landlocked.

List of Landlocked Countries

AfghanistanCentral Asia
AustriaCentral Europe
BoliviaSouth America
BotswanaSouthern Africa
Burkina FasoCentral Africa
BurundiCentral Africa
Central African RepublicCentral Africa
ChadCentral Africa
Czech RepublicCentral Europe
EthiopiaCentral Africa
HungaryCentral Europe
KazakhstanCentral Asia
KosovoCentral Europe
KyrgyzstanCentral Asia
LiechtensteinCentral Europe
MacedoniaCentral Europe
MalawiSouthern Africa
MaliCentral Africa
MoldovaEastern Europe
NigerCentral Africa
ParaguaySouth America
RwandaCentral Africa
San MarinoEurope
SerbiaCentral Europe
SlovakiaCentral Europe
South OssetiaEurope
South SudanCentral Africa
SwitzerlandCentral Europe
TajikistanCentral Asia
TransnistriaEastern Europe
TurkmenistanCentral Asia
UgandaCentral Africa
UzbekistanCentral Asia
Vatican CityEurope
ZambiaSouthern Africa
ZimbabweSouthern Africa
*The Caucasus or Caucasia is a region at the border of Europe and Asia, situated between the Black and the Caspian seas.

List of Landlocked Countries by Continents

Landlocked Countries of Asia

There are 13 different landlocked countries in Asia. These countries in decreasing order of area are – Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Laos, Kyrgyzstan, Nepal, Tajikistan, Azerbaijan, Bhutan and Armenia.

Landlocked Countries of Europe

The 12 landlocked countries of Europe in descending order of Area are – Belarus, Hungary, Serbia, Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Switzerland, Moldova, Macedonia, Luxembourg, Andorra, Liechtenstein, San Marino and Vatican City.

Landlocked Countries of Africa

The 17 landlocked countries of Africa in decreasing order of Area are – Chad, Niger, Mali, Ethiopia, Zambia, Central African Republic, South Sudan, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, Lesotho, Burundi, Rwanda, Swaziland.

Landlocked Countries of South America

There are only two landlocked countries. These in decreasing order of their area are Bolivia and Paraguay.

Frequently asked:

How many landlocked countries are there in the world?
There are currently 48 countries (including four partially recognised states) that are completely surrounded by at least one other country. With the exception of two countries in South America (Bolivia and Paraguay), the rest of these 46 countries are found in Africa, Europe, and Asia.

How many landlocked countries are in Africa?
The landlocked countries in Africa are Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, CentralAfrican Republic, Chad, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Niger, Rwanda, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Which is the largest (by population) landlocked country?
Ethiopia is the largest landlocked country in terms of population with estimated population as 100+m

The World's Largest Landlocked Country is?

A. Afghanistan B. Azerbaijan C. Kazakhstan D. Uzbekistan
Ans: C - Kazakhstan

Post a Comment